Setting goals for the “20 something kid”

Standard

For the past couple of days I have been truly thinking about where my life is going and the decisions I make on a daily basis. It’s hard today to think about your future, when we are forced to always be thinking about the current moment. Today so many people can’t look up past their own cell phone screens to realize, they are in the middle of the street. This is a metaphor for many things about today’s “youth”, but it’s also real truth for everyone. Wake up, look around and realize that there is so much more than what you are comfortable with.

“I always wonder why birds choose to stay in the same place when they can fly anywhere on the earth, then I ask myself the same question.”

― Harun Yahya

For some reason we have lost the sense of adventure that made our country what it is. We have forgotten that we are all immigrants of adventurers, who risked it all to come to a strange land to be someone new, better and different. Circumstances are different now for a person in their 20s and you could say that things are only getting worse:

1. Everyone has a degree but no one seems to have a career.

2. Everyone has the money to buy the newest and the best, but they can’t seems to make rent.

3. College loans have crippled us into a life not worth living, so we stay safe.

4. We stay so safe that our lives never grow, hence the “20 something kid”.

We can’t seem to grow because we are always afraid of not being able to make that loan payment. So we stick with the jobs we can get, most in the service industry. Everyone around us is telling us to “stay safe” and “save up”. Save up for what? If I have no goals, I nothing to live for. If I never take that plunge, I’ll never know. Don’t be afraid to fail. Failure is what builds character. Your material shit doesn’t make you who you are. Your credit score doesn’t make you who you are. Start building your character today. Take the plunge. The next video is what started it all for me. My eyes were opened. Listen to his inspiration speech and click on the YouTube link.

“When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.”

― Eric ThomasThe Secret To Success 

I want to live. I want to be my own person. So I set goals every day to accomplish to feel full. I call it homework. If I don’t get my homework done, I’ll “get in trouble”. Give yourself some home work. If you don’t know where to start, I’ll help you. Image

Homework: Sit down in a relaxing place and write down your goals. Goals aren’t, “I want to be happy” or “I want to pay off my loans”. Those aren’t goals and you know it. Write down what you want to achieve in your life and without reservations. You’ll be surprise about what comes out.

Speaker of the day: Eric Thomas

For more inspiration from Eric Thomas “The Hip Hop Preacher” click on the link below

https://www.youtube.com/user/etthehiphoppreacher

Audio book: Personal Power II by Tony Robbins

For motivation from Tony click below

https://www.youtube.com/user/TonyRobbinsLive

Leave a Reply

